Shobha Karndlaje


BJP Karnataka

Shobha gets energy, Acharya lose Home, Palemar gets Muzarai

BANGALORE, SEPTEMBER 22, 2010: Karnataka Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa on Wednesday effected a major change in the portfolios of existing ministers while allocating portfolios to the newly inducted ministers.
V S Acharya lost his Home portfolio and has to satisfied with the Higher Education which was held earlier by Aravind Limbavali. Mr Limbavali was sacked yesterday for his poor performance and alleged arrogance.
But good news is Krishna Palemar gets additional Muzarai portfolio. He has been holding port and environment portfolio.
Similarly, Transport Minister R Ashok has been made the new home minister of Karnataka, while Shobha Karandlage gets Energy which was held by her close aide Mr Yeddyurappa.

There are no changes in the portfolios of Reddy brothers and Sriramulu, Katta Subramanya Naidu, S Suresh Kumar, Vishveshwara Hegde Kageri, and Bache Gowda.
The Governor Mr Hans Raj Bharadhwaj, on the advice of the Chief Minister Yeddyurappa, has allocated the portfolios to the members of the State Cabinet.
Ashok will, however, continue to be the transport minister, a post he has been holding since the first Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) came to power in the state in May 2008.
Shobha, a confidante of Yeddyurappa, was forced to resign as part of the compromise formula to please the powerful mine owners and ministers, the Reddy brothers who revolted against the chief minister in October-November last year.
The other five new cabinet ministers have been given the following portfolios: V. Somanna – food, civil supplies and consumer affairs, a post held by H. Halappa, who resigned in May after he was accused of raping his friend’s wife in 2009.
C.H. Vijaya Shankar — forest, ecology and environment; A. Narayana Swamy – social welfare; C.C. Patil – women and child development and S.A. Ramdas – medical education.
The six new ministers were sworn-in by Bhardwaj at Raj Bhavan at a noisy ceremony, which lasted about 10 minutes and was attended by other cabinet colleagues, officials and several supporters of the newly inducted.
The twin Reddy brothers and B. Sriramulu from the rich iron ore belt of Bellary district in north Karnataka retain the portfolios they have been holding during the last 28 months.
Elder brother G. Karunakara Reddy holds revenue, while younger brother G. Janaradhana Reddy will continue as tourism and infrastructure development.
Sriramulu will continue as minister of health and family welfare.
In addition to being the chief minister, Yeddyurappa will continue to hold the following portfolios – finance, urban development pertaining to Bangalore city, mines and geology, information and personnel and administrative reforms.
Yeddyurappa dropped three ministers Tuesday despite efforts by the Reddy brothers against the move.
Those shown the door were Goolihatti Shekar (sports and youth affairs), K. Shivanagouda Naik (mass education and public libraries) and Aravind Limbavali (higher education).
The other three vacancies were caused earlier following the resignation of ministers over various scandals.


Men do less than the yought,unless they do all they can

— Thomas Carlyle


Get latest updates of my blog, news, media watch in your email inbox. subscribe to my newsletter